Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

Ajit Jogi got first defeat in any Chhattisgarh election


Ajit Jogi

Mahasamund, May 16, 2014: Former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi got his first ever defeat in any election in Chhattisgarh after its creation in the year 2000.

Congress candidate Ajit Jogi was defeated by sitting BJP Lok Sabha member Chandu Lal Sahu in Mahasamund Lok Sabha seat.

The defeat margin was 1217 votes in Mahasamund general seat, which was even represented once by Jogi in the 2004 election defeating then BJP candidate Vidya Charan Shukla.

Ajit Jogi polled 502297 votes where and Chandu Lal Sahu worn the election after securing 503514 votes. The seat polled 1131209 votes.

The Mahasamund constituency had eight Chandu Lal Sahu, including the sitting BJP candidate and three Chandu Ram Sahu and two Moti Lal Sahu.

BJP had accused that all the Chandu Lals and Chandu Rams were fielded by Ajit Jogi to confuse the voters with the name of the BJP candidate Chandu Lal Sahu. However, Jogi had denied the allegation.

There were 27 candidates in Mahasamund Lok Sabha election.

Notifications issues for polls to 11 Urban Local bodies


Raipur, December 07, 2015: Chhattisgarh Election Commission today issued notification for election to eleven urban local bodies of the state. With the notification, pr

read more

Polls in 11 Urban Local bodies on December28


Raipur, November 21, 2015: Chhattisgarh Election Commission today declared the election schedule for eleven urban local bodies of the state. State Election Commission

read more