Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

Election Commission to review poll preparedness of Chhattisgarh tomorrow

Raipur, October 23, 2008: Amid complaints against sitting Ministers of violation of model code of conduct, Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswami is coming here tomorrow to also review the poll preparedness and security arrangements for the two phase assembly election of Chhattisgarh.

The Congress party had prepared a memorandum to be handed over tomorrow to the Commission drawing their attention how state BJP Ministers including Brij Mohan Agrawal, Amar Agrawal and Ajay Chandrakar, have grossly violated the model code of conduct and misused the government premises for the electioneering, Congress Spokesman Rajendra Tiwari told reporters here.

Meanwhile, BJP sources told the ChhattisgarhTopNews.Com they have also prepared a list of events to state how the main opposition Congress was not respecting the model code of conduct and how it was creating a law and order situation in the state.

Gopalaswami and Election Commissioners Navin B Chawla and S Y Qureshi would review the poll works tomorrow and the next day they would leave for Delhi, Election Commission sources said here today.

During their stay, the Commission would specifically review the security blue print of the state administration after 12 CRPF personnel were ambushed and killed by the Maoists in Bijapur district just recently, the sources said.

During the 2003 Assembly election and 2004 Parliamentary votes several naxal strongholds had been converted into battle field between both the Maoists and the security forces.

This time the situation would be more intensified, the sources said adding the latest situation would be reviewed by the Commission in the presence of the civil, police and intelligence officials.

EC declares Assembly polls in Tripura on Feb 16, Nagaland, Meghalaya Feb 27


New Delhi, January 18, 2023: The Election Commission of India today declared election schedule for three north eastern states namely Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya. The

read more

Congress retains Bhanupratappur seat


Kanker, December 08, 2022: Congress today retained the Bhanupratappur assembly segment by defeating the BJP with over 21 thousand votes. Savitri Mandavi of Congress defe

read more