Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

EC orders probe against Cong Candidate Ram Dayal Uikey

Korba, November 12, 2008: The Election Commission today ordered probe against the Congress candidate from Pali-Tanakhar assembly seat of Korba district in Chhattisgarh Ram Dayal Uikey for allegedly distributing money during campaigning.

A case has been registered against Uikey and the matter was under investigation, District Returning Officer of Korba Ashok Agrawal told ChhattisgarhTopNews.Com.

After a satellite News Channel Voice of India - Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh in one of its news programme shown Uikey allegedly distributing money to the voters of his constituency, the Election Commission took cognizance of that, Commission sources said.

On instruction from the Commission a case has been registered and the District Returning Officer Ashok Agrawal had asked his Sub Divisional Magistrate P Nihlani to probe the matter, they said.

According to Nihlani he would be probing the matter today and send the report to the Commission for action.

It is to be mentioned here that Uikey is the second Congress candidate against whom Election Commission had taken action on similar charges.

Earlier Dantewada district police has registered a case against the Leader of Opposition and Congress candidate from Dantewada Mahendra Karma on November 7, after The Hindustan Times carried a news item claiming Karma was distributing money to seek votes.

The case had also been registered under the Representation of People Act against Karma after the matter was taken cognizance by the Election Commission, officials said.

14 candidates withdraw their nominations, 7 in fray


Raipur, November 21, 2022: A total of 14 candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers from the Bhanupratappur assembly by-election in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, Ele

read more

Brijmohan BJP election in-charge for Bhanupratappur by-poll


Raipur, November 18, 2022: In an attempt to consolidate its position, BJP today appointed senior party leader Brijmohan Agrawal as the in-charge for the December 5 Bhanupratap

read more