Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

14 candidates withdraw their nominations, 7 in fray



Raipur, November 21, 2022: A total of 14 candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers from the Bhanupratappur assembly by-election in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, Election Commission sources said today.

There were 21 candidates, whose nominations were found valid, out of which 14 have withdrawn their nominations from the December 5 assembly election, the sources said.

There are 7 candidates now in the fray, they said.

Including Congress and BJP, all the seven candidates have been allotted symbols for the Bhanupratappur assembly by election, the sources said.

Bhanupratappur Tribal Reserved seat is witnessing by-election as the sitting MLA and Deputy Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly Manoj Singh Mandavi had passed away on October 16 last after a massive cardiac arrest.

Former Minister of state for Home in Ajit Jogi government, Manoj Mandavi had represented the seat as a Congress candidate for three times in 1998, 2013 and 2018.

To fill the vacancy the ruling Congress has fielded his widow Savitri Mandavi where BJP picked up former MLA Brahmanand Netam as its candidate.

Ghansyam Jurri of Gondwana Gantantra Party, Daimond Netam of Rashtriya Jansabha Party, Shivlal Pudo from Ambedkarite Party of India are the candidates from political parties whereas Akbar Ram Korram and Dinesh Kumar Kallo are trying their luck as independent candidates.

EC declares Assembly polls in Tripura on Feb 16, Nagaland, Meghalaya Feb 27


New Delhi, January 18, 2023: The Election Commission of India today declared election schedule for three north eastern states namely Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya. The

read more

Congress retains Bhanupratappur seat


Kanker, December 08, 2022: Congress today retained the Bhanupratappur assembly segment by defeating the BJP with over 21 thousand votes. Savitri Mandavi of Congress defe

read more