Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

Nomination starts today for Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha poll

Raipur, March 23, 2009: To woo over 1.5 crore voters of Chhattisgarh, the nomination was started today with the notification for the election for eleven Lok Sabha seats of the state.

“After completing all preparations, the notification was issued today for all the eleven seats and with that the filing of nominations was started in Chhattisgarh,” Joint Chief Electoral Officer of the state Gaurav Dwivedi told The ChhattisgarhTopNews.Com.

As per the notification, the nomination process was started today and would continue up to March 30. The nomination papers would be scrutinised on March 31. The candidates can withdraw nomination papers till April 2 after which the election symbol would be allotted.

Along with many other places, Chhattisgarh was going to poll on April 16 on the first phase of the Lok Sabha election.

The timing of polling for Bastar and Kanker seats are scheduled from 7.00 am to 3.00 pm as per the directive of the Commission. The timing for rest of the constituencies are from 7.00 am to 4.00 pm.

The counting of votes is scheduled on May 16.

The state has a total of 1,54,82,179 voters, including 78,51,798 male and 76,30,381 female spread over 11 Lok Sabha seats. The Election Commission had made arrangements for about 20,000 polling booths in the state for a free, fair and peaceful election.

The state has four reserved Tribals seats - Sarguja, Raigarh, Bastar and Kanker and one for Scheduled Caste namely Janjgir-Champa. The rest Korba, Bilaspur, Rajnandgaon, Durg, Raipur and Mahasamund are general seats.

By-Poll day declares Holiday in Bhanupratappur

Kanker, November 25, 2022: The Chhattisgarh administration has declared the voting day December 5 as a holiday in the Bhanupratappur assembly segment area. Bhanupratappu

read more

14 candidates withdraw their nominations, 7 in fray


Raipur, November 21, 2022: A total of 14 candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers from the Bhanupratappur assembly by-election in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, Ele

read more