Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

Fresh electoral rolls for 29 local bodies



Raipur, September 9, 2009: The State Election Commission today said fresh electoral rolls would be published for 29 local bodies of the state, which would be going to poll in couple of months.

In those 29 local bodies, several names of voters have been registered in more than one place, because of which electoral rolls in those places would be prepared once again, Election office said here.

The electoral rolls were containing the names of those people, who are either dead or even migrated to other places and taking that seriously, AICC In charge of Chhattisgarh V Narayan Samy had recently said if those names were not deleted the opposition would go for a massive agitation even against the Commission.

The Commission, meanwhile, said Including Raipur, Bilaspur Durg and Rajnandgaon Municipal Corporation, municipalities like Mahasamund, Kawardha, Jashpur Nagar, Kumhari, Bemetara, Gobranawapara and Manendragarh would have fresh electoral rolls.

Also urban local bodies Pandaria, Thankhamaria, Patan, Ahiwara, Bagbahara, Saraipali, Simga, Kasdol, Pathalgaon, Dharamjaigarh, Katghora, Ramanjganj, Seori Narayan, Naya Baradwar, Kota, Takhatpur, Lormi and Bilha have also been included in those 29 local bodies.

On October 5 new electoral rolls would be published and up to October 12 complaint or application for addition would be invited, the Commission said.

The Commission had also published the electoral rolls for the rest 70 urban local bodies and fixed up to September 15 to invite application or objection on names of electors.

14 candidates withdraw their nominations, 7 in fray


Raipur, November 21, 2022: A total of 14 candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers from the Bhanupratappur assembly by-election in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, Ele

read more

Brijmohan BJP election in-charge for Bhanupratappur by-poll


Raipur, November 18, 2022: In an attempt to consolidate its position, BJP today appointed senior party leader Brijmohan Agrawal as the in-charge for the December 5 Bhanupratap

read more