Top News

Hi Bureaucrats



News & Views

Star of the week

1228 votes defeat for BJP in Vaishali Nagar by-poll

Raipur, November 10, 2009: In a blow to the ruling BJP, the main opposition Congress today wrested the Vaishali Nagar assembly seat from the saffron party in Durg district of Chhattisgarh.

BJP is defeated from Vaishali Nagar by a margin of 1228 votes, Election office sources told ChhattisgarhTopNews.Com.

After Saroj Pandey of BJP got elected as Durg Lok Sabha MP, she resigned from her Vaishali Nagar segment following which the by-election was held on November 7, last.

Bhajan Singh Nirankari of Congress got 47,225 votes where as Jagyeswar Sahu of BJP secured 45,997 votes, the officials said.

Interestingly expelled BJP leader Tarachand Sahu's candidate Riti Deshlehere managed 11,471 votes and spoiled the prospect of the BJP.

In last Assembly poll, Saroj Pandey had won the seat by a margin of 21,267 votes.

It was a shocking defeat for the BJP as only less than year back the party had own the assembly election in the state to form the government consecutively for the second time.

By-Poll day declares Holiday in Bhanupratappur

Kanker, November 25, 2022: The Chhattisgarh administration has declared the voting day December 5 as a holiday in the Bhanupratappur assembly segment area. Bhanupratappu

read more

14 candidates withdraw their nominations, 7 in fray


Raipur, November 21, 2022: A total of 14 candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers from the Bhanupratappur assembly by-election in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, Ele

read more