Read Time:1 Minute, 54 Second

     New Delhi, May 31, 2024: World’s largest polling marathon drawing to a close as preparations are in place for elections to 57 Lok Sabha seats along with 42 Assembly Constituencies in Odisha tomorrow in the 7th and final phase of the General election 2024.

     Voting will begin at 7 AM tomorrow and closure of poll timings may differ constituency wise, Election Commission Sources said.

     Among the 57 Parliamentary Constituencies 41 are General; 03 are ST and 13 are SC spread over in 8 States and union territories, including Bihar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

     Polling for remaining 42 Assembly Constituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also take place simultaneously tomorrow. Of the 42 Assembly Constituencies 27 are general, 06 are for ST and 09 are reserved for SC of Odisha.

     Over 10.06 crore electors, include approximately 5.24 crore Male; 4.82 crore Female and 3574 Third gender, will exercise their franchise in the last phase of votes for which the Election Commission is all geared up for tomorrow, the sources said.

     This will mark a grand finish to world’s largest polling marathon that began on 19th of last month and already covered 6 phases and 486 Lok Sabha seats, the Commission Sources said.

      Polling for 28 States/UTs and 486 PCs has been completed in a smooth and peaceful manner.

     Counting of votes will take place on June 4, next.

     For tomorrow polling parties have been dispatched along with machines and materials to their respective polling stations. Concerned CEOs and State machineries have been directed to take adequate measures to manage the adverse impact of hot weather or rainfall wherever predicted, the sources said.

     In spite of hot weather conditions, voters have turned up in huge numbers at the polling stations in the past phases. In the last two phases, female voter turnout percentage has surpassed male voter turnout. The Commission has called upon voters to turn out in greater numbers at polling stations and vote with responsibility and pride.

Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai Previous post Entire Sai Cabinet in IIM Raipur for brainstorming session on welfare and development
Defence Ministry Next post Maj Gen Harsh Chhibber New Commandant, College of Defence Management, Secunderabad