Read Time:1 Minute, 15 Second

     Bemetara/Durg, January 13, 2012: Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh today formally inaugurated 100 per cent electrified Bemetara district, which has been carved out from Durg district.

    Perhaps Bemetara is the only district in Chhattisgarh, where all its 697 villages are electrified.

     Spread over 855 sq km area, Bemetara District is comprising of 697 villages. It has five tehsils, 334 gram panchayats and seven urban local bodies.

     Nawagarh, Bemetara, Berla, Saja and Thankhamharia are the five tehsils ( and also blocks) and Bemetara, Saja, Thankhamharia, Maro, Deokar, Parpodi and Berla are the seven urban local bodies.

     Interestingly Bemetara was declared a tehsil about 106 years ago and it travelled a long way to be upgraded to a district only on January 01, 2012.

     The Chief Minister also participated in a rally before inaugurating the District Collectorate and the SP office. He also addressed a public meeting and greeted the people on this occasion.

     Eleven new districts were created in the last four years and the new District Bemetara would definitely bring prosperity to the locals and created a new hallmark, the Chief Minister said.

    He also recollected the last 27 years struggle of the people for a separate Bemetara District and said, the state government would fulfill all the promises it had made to the people of the state.

Previous post 152-year-old Mungeli tehsil becomes Dist
Next post Urban Suraj Campaign cancelled