Read Time:1 Minute, 7 Second

     Jagdalpur, April 22, 2011: Eight candidates are trying their luck in the May 8 Bastar Lok Sabha by-election.

     It was now clear after the completion of the nomination process that the Tribal Bastar seat would witness a multi-corner contest for the May 8 by-poll.

     After the withdrawal of nominations yesterday eight candidates are left in the fray, with three from the recognised national parties and five from either unrecognised or independent candidates, Election office sources said.

     The nomination papers of Dinesh Kashyap of BJP, MLA Kawashi Lakhma of Congress and Rama Sodhi of Communist Party of India were found correct.

     Similarly the nominations of unrecognised party Chhattisgarh Swabhiman Manch candidate Subhash Chandra Mourya, Independents Dinesh Kashyap, Dinesh Nag, Dinesh Markam and Lakhma were found valid.

     Since no one withdrew their nominations on the last date of withdrawal yesterday, all the eight candidates are in the fray.

    The Bastar by-election was being held to fill the vacancy, which was created after the death of sitting BJP MP Baliram Kashyap on March 10.

     Polling would takes place on May 8 and counting on May 13 for the Tribal Reserved seat.

Previous post Cong complains to Election Commission against BJP
Next post Demands of People Changing: Raman