Read Time:2 Minute, 39 Second

     New Delhi, July 03, 2024: Both the houses of Parliament have been declared sine die after transaction of official business.

     After general elections for the 18th Lok Sabha, the First Session of Lok Sabha and 264th Session of Rajya Sabha were called from June 24 and June 27, respectively.

     Rajya Sabha was adjourned sine die today whereas the Lok Sabha was adjourned sine die yesterday.

     Addressing a Press Conference Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju gave the details of proceedings of this session.

     First two days in Lok Sabha were devoted exclusively for the purpose of Oath and Affirmation of newly elected Members of 18th Lok Sabha. During the Session in total 539 out of 542 Members took Oath and Affirmation.

     For facilitation of Oath/Affirmation, President Droupadi Murmu had appointed Cuttack BJP MP Bhartruhari Mehtab as Speaker Protem and Suresh Kodikunnil, Radha Mohan Singh, Faggan Singh Kulaste, T R Baalu and Sudip Bandyopadhyay, persons before whom Members may make and subscribe Oath/Affirmation under Article 99 of the Constitution.

     On June 26, election of Lok Sabha Speaker was held and Om Birla was elected as the Speaker through voice vote. On the same day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi introduced his Council of Ministers to the Lok Sabha.

     On June 27, the President addressed both the Houses of Parliament assembled together under Article 87 of the Constitution giving details of past achievements of the government and also detailing out roadmap for future development of the nation.

     On June 27, the Prime Minister also introduced his Council of Ministers to the Rajya Sabha.

     Discussion on Motion of Thanks on President’s address was scheduled to commence on June 28, 2024 in both the Houses.

     In Lok Sabha, due to interruptions, debate on the subject could be initiated only on July 1, 2024. Former Minister and BJP MP Anurag Thakur initiated the debate while Bansuri Swaraj, seconded the discussion in Lok Sabha.

     From the opposition newly appointed Leader of Opposition Rahul Gandhi led the discussion.

     In total 68 Members took part in the debate while more than 50 Members laid their speeches on the Table of the House. Debate was replied to by Prime Minister after a discussion of more than 18 hours on July 2. There were 7 Sittings of about 34 hours in Lok Sabha and the productivity despite one day’s washout has been 105 per cent.

     In Rajya Sabha, discussion on Motion of Thanks on President’s address was initiated by BJP MP Sudhanshu Trivedi which was seconded by Kavita Patidar on June 28.

     In total 76 Rajya Sabha members took part in the debate of more than 21 hours which was replied to by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on July 3, 2024. Total productivity of Rajya Sabha has been more than 100 per cent.

Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai Previous post 2nd CM Jan Darshan tomorrow
Parliament of India Next post Smart Cities Mission extended till March 2025