Read Time:54 Second

     New Delhi, June 5, 2024: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today submitted the resignation letter of his council of ministers to President Droupadi Murmu.

     The President has accepted it and asked him to continue till the new government assumes office, a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said.

    “The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, met the President today and tendered his resignation along with the Council of Ministers.

    “The President has accepted the resignation and requested Shri Narendra Modi and the Council of Ministers to continue till the new Government assumes office,” the communique said.

    Earlier in the day, the Union cabinet, led by Modi, recommended the dissolution of the 17th Lok Sabha, according to sources.

     The term of the current 17th Lok Sabha ends on June 16.

    The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won a majority in the Lok Sabha elections yesterday. But BJP failed to secure absolute majority of its own and had to satisfy with 240 seats.

      Because of this reason BJP is now critically dependent on its allies for government formation.

CGTopNews.Com Previous post Naveen Patnaik resigns as Odisha CM after defeat
New Parliament Building Next post President dissolves 17th Lok Sabha