Read Time:58 Second

     Raipur, June 5, 2024: President Droupadi Murmu today dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha on the advice of the Cabinet, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

     Earlier in the day the Cabinet advised the President to dissolve the current Lok Sabha with immediate effect, officials said.

Prime Minister meeting the President

    “The President has accepted the advice of the Cabinet on 05.06.2024 and signed the Order dissolving the 17th Lok Sabha in exercise of the powers conferred upon her by Sub-clause (b) of Clause (2) of Article 85 of the Constitution,” a communique issued by the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

    The term of the current Lok Sabha was to end on June 16.

    After the cabinet meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi met the President Murmu and tendered his resignation, who accepted it and asked him to continue till the new government assumes office.

    While the NDA is comfortably above the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha, the BJP, which won 240 seats, has fallen short of the magic number for the first time since 2014 and is critically dependent on its allies for government formation.

President of India Droupadi Murmu Previous post Modi submits resignation to Murmu
Election commission of India Next post Total 65.79% voter turnout recorded in general election 2024