Read Time:46 Second

     Bhubaneswar, June 5, 2024: After 24 years’ continuous rule of Odisha, BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik today resigned as chief minister after the defeat of his Biju Janata Dal in the assembly elections in the state.

     Naveen Patnaik today met the Governor Raghubar Das and tendered his resignation at the Raj Bhawan here, sources said.

     Patnaik went alone to the Raj Bhawan to submit his resignation although several of his senior party leaders were present at the Naveen Niwas, the sources said.

     Ending the 24-year rule of Patnaik, people had pushed him to a distance second with 51 seats whereas main opposition BJP got 78 seats in the 147 member state assembly.

     Congress has got 14 seats whereas CPI-M has got one seats and three independents have managed to win the election.

Rahul Gandhi Previous post Priyanka Gandhi praises brother Rahul
President of India Droupadi Murmu Next post Modi submits resignation to Murmu