Read Time:42 Second

     Raipur, August 3, 2009: After Congress failed to put up its candidate in the Rajya Sabha by-election, Nand Kumar Sai of BJP was today elected to the Rajya Sabha from Chhattisgarh.

     After Rajya Sabha MP Dillip Singh Ju Deo elected to the Lok Sabha from Bilaspur, the Election Commission had issued notification against the vacant seat of the upper house from the state.

     Looking into the party position, the opposition Congress was sure of its defeat in the election and decided not to field any candidate for the lone seat, where as BJP had fielded its former state President Nand Kumar Sai as the candidate.

     After scrutiny, Sai was declared elected by the Returning officer and Assembly Secretary Devendra Verma in the assembly premises.

Previous post Rice in place of Wheat to Chhattisgarh
Next post 3-years medicine students in Govt services