Read Time:1 Minute, 57 Second

     New Delhi, June 07, 2024: President Droupadi Murmu today appointed Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister designate.

President Droupadi Murmu Appoints Narendra Modi as Prime Minister designate

     The President, having satisfied herself on the basis of the various letters of support received, that the BJP-led NDA alliance, which is also the largest pre-election alliance, is in a position to command majority support of the newly constituted 18th Lok Sabha and to form a stable government, appointed Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India exercising powers vested in her under Article 75(1) of the Constitution of India, a press communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

President Droupadi Murmu Appoints Narendra Modi as Prime Minister designate

     The President has also requested Modi to indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan and also advise her about the names of other persons to be appointed as members of the Union Council of Ministers, it said.

     Earlier a delegation of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President J P Nadda called on the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan today at 2.30 PM and handed over a letter stating that Narendra Modi has been elected as Leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party.

     Letters of support from NDA constituent parties were also handed over to the President.

      The other members of the delegation were Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Ashwini Vaishnaw and C N Manjunath from BJP; N Chandrababu Naidu from Telugu Desam Party; Nitish Kumar, Rajiv Ranjan Singh (Lalan Singh) and Sanjay Jha from Janata Dal (United); Eknath Shinde from Shiv Sena; H D Kumaraswamy from Janata Dal (Secular);  Chirag Paswan from Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas); Jitan Ram Manjhi from Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular); Pawan Kalyan from Janasena; Ajit Pawar from Nationalist Congress Party; Anupriya Patel from Apna Dal (Soneylal); Jayant Chaudhary from Rashtriya Lok Dal; Joyanta Basumatary from United People’s Party Liberal; Atul Bora from Asom Gana Parishad; Indra Hang Subba from Sikkim Krantikari Morcha; Sudesh Mahto and Chandra Prakash Choudhary from All Jharkhand Students Union; and Ramdas Athawale from Republican Party of India (A).

electronic toll gate FASTag Previous post NHAI Invites Global Expression of Interest for Implementation of Electronic Toll Collection in India
Narendra Modi Next post Narendra Modi to take oath on Sunday evening