Read Time:2 Minute, 25 Second

     Raipur, November 14, 2008: Voting in 39 seats started today, which will most likely decide the fate of the Raman Singh government in Chhattisgarh on many accounts.

     In fact, ruling BJP had denied tickets to 15 of its sitting MLAs from those 39 seats, spread over Mahasamund, Dhamtari, Kanker, Bastar, Dantewada, Bijapur, Narayanpur, Durg, Rajnandgaon and Kawardha districts.

     It would also decide the fate of the current BJP government as out of 39 seats, BJP was in 28 constituencies, including one by Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh himself and the rest by Congress, including Leader of Opposition Mahendra Karma and Deputy Opposition Leader Bhupesh Baghel.

     Seat wise, out of 39 seats, 21 are general seats where as 14 seats have been reserved for ST and the rest four for SC, Joint Chief Electoral Officer Gaurav Dwivedi told ChhattisgarhTopNews.Com.

      When the entire Bastar region would go for poll from 7.00 AM to 3.00PM in rest of the places it is 8.00AM to 5.00 PM for which elaborate security arrangements have been made, Dwivedi said.

      Including Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, the first phase votes will decide the fates of Speaker Prem Prakash Pandey, Ministers Ajay Chandrakar, Hemchand Yadav, Leader of Opposition Karma, Deputy Opposition Leader Baghel, senior Congress leaders Ravindra Choubey, Dharamjeet Singh and Mohammed Akbar.

      The second phase poll would be held on November 20 where as counting will takes place on December 8 for all the segments.

      The election process has to be completed by December 13, he said.

List of 39 Assembly Constituencies going to poll in Phase-I

No. and Name of AC Type District

39-Saraipali SC Mahasamund

40-Basna GEN Mahasamund

41-Khallari GEN Mahasamund

42-Mahasamund GEN Mahasamund

56- Sihawa ST Dhamtari

57- Kurud GEN Dhamtari

58- Dhamtari GEN Dhamtari

59 – Sanjari Balod GEN Durg

60 – Dondi Lohara ST Durg

61 – Gunderdehi GEN Durg

62 – Patan GEN Durg

63 – Durg Rural GEN Durg

64 – Durg City GEN Durg

65 – Bhilai Nagar GEN Durg

66 – Vaishali Nagar GEN Durg

67 – Ahiwara SC Durg

68 – Saja GEN Durg

69 – Bemetara GEN Durg

70 – Nawagarh SC Durg

71- Pandariya GEN Kabirdham

72- Kawardha GEN Kabirdham

73- Khairagarh GEN Rajnandgaon

74-Dongargarh SC Rajnandgaon

75-Rajnandgaon GEN Rajnandgaon

76-Dongargaon GEN Rajnandgaon

77-Khujji GEN Rajnandgaon

78- Mohla Manpur ST Rajnandgaon

79- Antagarh ST Uttar Bastar Kanker

80- Bhanupratappur ST Uttar Bastar Kanker

81- Kanker ST Uttar Bastar Kanker

82- Keshkal ST Bastar

83- Kondagaon ST Bastar

84- Narayanpur ST Narayanpur

85-Bastar ST Bastar

86- Jagdalpur GEN Bastar

87-Chitrakot ST Bastar

88-Dantewada ST Dakshin Bastar Dantewada

89-Bijapur ST Bijapur

90-Konta ST Dakshin Bastar Dantewada.

Previous post Mukesh Gupta new IG of Sarguja
Next post 3 policemen injured in blast, poll disrupt in 2 booths in Dantewada