Read Time:1 Minute, 49 Second

     Raipur, February 02, 2012: Chhattisgarh Cabinet would honour both the Padma Shri awardees from the state on Tuesday next.

    Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh today decided to honour both Shamshad Begum and Phoolbasan Bai Yadav during the February 7 cabinet meeting, officials said today.

     The Chief Minister conveyed the decision to Yadav, when she led a delegation of her Maa Bamleswari Women Self Help Group to meet him at his residence today.

     On January 25, 2012 President of India Pratibha Patil had approved conferment of prestigious Padma Shri award to Shamshad Begum of Gunderdehi in Balod District and Phoolbasan Bai Yadav of Sukuldaihan of Rajnandgaon district.

     Yadav has been engaged in organising and empowering large number of rural women through self help group.

     Shamshad Begum of newly created Balod District has been engaged in women education and literacy and was taking effective steps in linking women from SC, ST and OBC with various welfare schemes.

     Padma Awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year and are conferred by the President at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan sometime around March or April.

     This year the President has approved 109 awards including one duo case (counted as one) and 14 in the category of Foreigners/NRIs/PIOs/Posthumous. These comprise five Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri Awards.

     There are 19 women among the awardees.

     Padma Awards, the country’s highest civilian awards, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

     The Awards are given in all disciplines/fields of activities, viz. art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

     ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

Previous post Dy Tehsildar dismisses in Chhattisgarh
Next post Agharia caste under OBC List