Read Time:42 Second

      Bilaspur, May 16, 2014: Comparatively a new face Lakhan Lal Sahu of BJP today won the Bilaspur Lok Sabha seat defeating Karuna Shukla of Congress.

     Lakhanlal Sahu won by a margin of 1,76,436 votes.

     Karuna Shukla polled 384951 votes where as Lakhanlal Sahu secured 561387 votes to become victorious. A total of 1090457 votes were polled in the Constituency.

     After a fight with BJP leadership, niece of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, quit the party and joined the Congress and unsuccessfully contested from the Bilaspur seat.

     There were 26 candidates in Bilaspur, including four Lakhan Lal Sahus contested the poll as independent and one from BJP and the saffron Lakhan Lal Sahu won the  election.

Previous post Kamla Patle retains Janjgir-Champa seat
Next post CM Raman congratulates Narendra Modi