Read Time:2 Minute, 34 Second

          New Delhi, March 05, 2014: Election Commission today declared the general election for the formation of 16th Lok Sabha with counting on May 16, 2014.

     “The Election Commission of India has made comprehensive preparations for conduct of elections to the 16th Lok Sabha in a free, fair and peaceful manner,” the Chief Election Commissioner said in a press conference.

      There would be 9-phase polls for the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies in the country, starting on April 7 and ending with May 12, 2014, he said.

      In the first phase six constituencies spread over two states will go to poll on April 07, 2014.

     On the second phase on April 09, 2014, seven Lok Sabha seats of five states are going to election.

      Third phase will witness elections to 92 seats spread over 14 states on April 10, 2014.

     On fourth phase five constituencies of three states will have election on April 12, 2014.

     A total of 122 Lok Sabha seats across 13 states will go to poll on April 17, 2014 on fifth phase.

     Voters from 117 seats in 12 states and union territories will go to poll on April 24, 2014. 

     On April 30, 2014 89 constituencies of nine states will go to poll under seventh phase.

     On eighth phase 64 seats of seven states would go to poll on May 07, 2014.

      On the ninth and last phase a total of 41 seats spread over three states would go to poll on May 12, 2014.

     The counting will be held on May 16, 2014.

     The total electorate in the country as per final published E-rolls in reference to 01.01.2014 is approximately 814.5 million compared to 713 million in 2009, he said adding “This marks an increase of more than 100 million electors”.

     There has been a remarkable increase in the enrollment of electors in the age group of 18 to 19 years.

      Over 23 million electors are in this age group. Electors in the age group of 18 to 19 years now constitute 2.88 per cent of the total electors, against 0.75 per cent in 2009, the CEC said.

      Presently there are approximately 9,30,000 Polling Stations in the country, as compared to 8,30,866 Polling Stations set up during Lok Sabha election, 2009. This marks an increase of nearly 11.9 per cent Polling Stations, he said.

     Like the Lok Sabha Elections in 2004 and 2009, the Commission has also decided to use Electronic Voting Machines in all the polling stations of the country.    

Previous post Cong appoints 4 District Presidents
Next post Bastar LS Election on April 10