Read Time:53 Second

     Raipur, August 28, 2012: The Government of India has approved a proposal of the Chhattisgarh government to include Bijapur and Narayanpur under the Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF), officials said today.

     Under the BRGF scheme, now both the districts would be allotted Rs 10 crore each per annum for local development, the officials said.

     On May 29, last the State Chief Minister had written a letter to the Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia urging him to cover both the districts under the BRGF scheme, they said.

     Both the Bijapur and Narayanpur districts of Bastar region were carved out as separate districts in 2007 by the Raman Government.

     With the latest decision by the Centre the total number of districts covered under the BRGF has increased to 15 from 13.

     Previously Korea, Sarguja, Jashpur, Raigarh, Korba, Bilaspur, Rajnandgaon, Kawardha, Mahasamund, Dhamtari, Kanker, Bastar and Dantewada districts were only covered under this scheme.

Previous post Raman clarifies, Coal suggestions made to avoid adverse impact on related industries
Next post Chhattisgarh only state to supply power 24 X 7 to farmer: Raman