Read Time:51 Second

     Raipur, February 06, 2012: In a surprise move, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh today appointed Sunil Kumar as the Chief Secretary.

     The state government announced his appointment when the outgoing Chief Secretary P Joy Oommen was on leave.

    Oommen became Chief Secretary on July 31, 2008 and is due to retire in a couple of months, officials said.

     The 1979 batch IAS Sunil Kumar is the fourth senior most IAS officer of the state.

     When both P Joy Oommen and Chairman of the Board of Secondary Education Narayan Singh are from 1977 batch, 1978 batch IAS T Radhakrishnan is currently placed under suspension since October 10, 2011.

     Sunil Kumar is known for his sincerity, honesty and integrity.

     He was earlier functioning as Additional Chief Secretary School Education, Technical Education, Science and Technology, with additional charges of Forest and Manpower Departments.

Previous post Pisda replaces Sunil Kumar as School Education Secretary
Next post Rajnandgaon MP bereaved