Read Time:58 Second

     Mahasamund, May 16, 2014: Former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi got his first ever defeat in any election in Chhattisgarh after its creation in the year 2000.

     Congress candidate Ajit Jogi was defeated by sitting BJP Lok Sabha member Chandu Lal Sahu in Mahasamund Lok Sabha seat.

     The defeat margin was 1217 votes in Mahasamund general seat, which was even represented once by Jogi in the 2004 election defeating then BJP candidate Vidya Charan Shukla.

     Ajit Jogi polled 502297 votes where and Chandu Lal Sahu worn the election after securing 503514 votes. The seat polled 1131209 votes.

     The Mahasamund constituency had eight Chandu Lal Sahu, including the sitting BJP candidate and three Chandu Ram Sahu and two Moti Lal Sahu.

     BJP had accused that all the Chandu Lals and Chandu Rams were fielded by Ajit Jogi to confuse the voters with the name of the BJP candidate Chandu Lal Sahu. However, Jogi had denied the allegation.

     There were 27 candidates in Mahasamund Lok Sabha election.

Previous post Record victory for Ramesh Bais from Raipur Lok Sabha seat
Next post Shocking defeat for Saroj Pandey in Durg seat