Read Time:41 Second

      Raipur, July 23, 2015: Senior BJP leader Badridhar Diwan was today elected as the new Deputy Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly.

     Diwan defeated Chintamani Maharaj of Congress.

     With that both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker posts are now with the BJP, which has been ruling the state for the last 12 years.

      Speaker Gouri Shankar Agrawal announced the election of Diwan as Deputy Speaker.

      When Diwan secured 49 votes the Opposition candidate got 36 votes in a 91 member house.

      Speaker, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, Leader of Opposition T S Singhdeo and other members congratulated Diwan.

     Congress had been demanding the post of Deputy Speaker.

Previous post Budget outlay of Chhattisgarh touches Rs 68.88 thousand Crore
Next post Cong no-Confidence Motion falls in Chhattisgarh Assembly