Read Time:54 Second

     Kanker, December 08, 2022: Congress today retained the Bhanupratappur assembly segment by defeating the BJP with over 21 thousand votes.

     Savitri Mandavi of Congress defeated her nearest rival Brahmanand Netam of BJP by 21,171 votes, Election Commission sources said.

     Mandavi secured 65,479 votes whereas Netam got 44,308 votes, the sources said.

     Giving an impressive fight, former IPS Akbar Ram Korram, who was fielded by Sarv Adiwasi Samaj, got 23,417 votes as an independent candidate.

     Among other candidates, Ghanshyam Jurri of Gondwana Gantantra Party secured 2485 votes, Diamond Netam of Rashtriya Jansabha Party 831 votes, Shivlal Pudo of Ambedkarite Party of India 1309 votes and Dinesh Kumar Kallo (Independent) 3851 votes and 4251 votes went to NOTA.

      Following the death of three-time Congress MLA and Deputy Speaker Manoj Singh Mandavi of a massive cardiac arrest on October 16 last, the December 5 by-poll was necessitated.   

Previous post Chief Secretary, DG Police inspect developmental works of Bastar
Next post Prestigious G-20 meeting in Chhattisgarh