Read Time:54 Second

     Raipur, January 5, 2008: BJP legislator Dharamlal Kaushik was today elected as the new Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly.

     Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh today proposed the name of Kaushik and Leader of Opposition Ravindra Choubey seconded his name.

     Finally Pro-tem Speaker Bodhram Kanwar, after a voice vote, declared him elected unanimously.

     Maintaining tradition, subsequently the new Speaker was escorted to his chair by the Chief Minister and the Leader of Opposition.

     Kaushik from the Chair said he would go by the rule of the house and not in party line and sought cooperation from all sides for that.

     Chief Minister congratulating him said all will abide by his ruling.

     The Leader of Opposition Choubey on this occasion pointed towards an issue and said despite reports by various house committees action on those matters had not been taken by the executive.

     BSP members also congratulated Kaushik.

Previous post CM, Jogis, others take oath as MLA
Next post CS, DGP absent during session